The Coyote – Mammals of PEI part 2

Last November  I started  a winter project to celebrate mammals of PEI  with poems and sketches. I started with  flying squirrels. This post will be about  coyotes!  Poem & Sketch by me. 

Here’s a short poem. It’s a variation of a Welsh poetic form  (I used 5 lines instead of 4. ).

A North American Native
Clever Coyote has spread.
She is (I read) everywhere,
more successful than humans
who tried eradication
but failed. Migration — her flair.
Coyote Sketch – IN PROGRESS (my first use of a grid marks to help keep proportions of body correct. I’ll be rubbing them out)

More on the Coyote

Coyote Myths & Facts  excellent blog post by PEI biologist Kate MacQuarrie

Coyote Watch Canada    website of wildlife organization

Coyote America   good book ( listened on Audible)

Coyote America YouTube lecture   good presentation by author of above book

Let’s Draw Birds  Webinar Cornell Lab Bird Academy – working along with this inspired me to get back working on the  coyote sketch!

;

Leave a comment