I’m reading “A Whole New Mind – why right-brainers will rule the future” by Daniel H. Pink

I decided I wanted to read Pink’s book after reading what Issy Clarke had to say about it. (and by the way I highly recommend her blog “A Natural Life for Jet and Walle” – it’s full of excellent story-telling, down-to-earth philosophy and psychology, photos and videos – it’s “about” horses but for everyone).

Issy had the audio-book. I was able to borrow a print copy from my local library.

One of the points that Pink makes is that “Good design can change the world. And so, alas, can bad design.)” He quotes  Anna Castelli Ferrier, furniture designer –

It’s not true that what is useful is beautiful. It is what is beautiful that is useful. Beauty can improve people’s way of life and thinking. – –

And he gives a bunch of examples why design is important (such as patients in a hospital room with natural light need less pain medication)  and he suggests that we take note of examples of good (and bad) design we see.

So here’s a GOOD DESIGN I found in Charlottetown which gives me JOY –

And here’s a BAD design that is joyless –

One comment

  1. A Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the FutureA Whole New Mind: Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future by Daniel H. Pink
    My rating: 4 of 5 stars

    I liked this book. It’s makes a few main points and does it in a fun way, with suggestions on how to practice making use of BOTH sides of our brains. Gives good examples of why right-brain skills are essential. For example – Pink explains why computer software will never completely replace the diagnosis skills of a human-doctor. And he got me thinking about the importance of good design and beauty in our world.

    As someone who tried to write poetry, the book gave me a boost in the emphasis Pink put on skills such as story-telling and empathy and keeping one’s eyes open and SEEING. He suggested Things To Do at the end of each section. Two I am doing are jotting down on a notebook when I notice examples of good (and bad) design. And also when I see/read nifty examples of metaphors – which as he pointed out – are everywhere, because we think in metaphors.(Or at least I think he said something like that… I don’t have the book in front of me, as I write this 🙂

    View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

