Crapsey Cinquain by Me

 

The Artist

He sings
by the board walk,
his words for free, strumming
guitar; more generous, open
than me.

========

========

 

santa-cruz-guitar-man-gerald-carpenter
Guitar Man (Image Source) painting by Gerald Carpenter

Here’s what a Crapsey Cinquain is.

P.S. I should confess that the poem is not really exphrastic. The poem is based on someone I saw at the local harbour park. After I wrote the poem, I went searching for a painting on-line to go with it 🙂

4 comments

  1. Love this – I could see it without the painting. There’s a lot in those few words – made me think about all the things that are free in this world that we walk past, not stopping to look or listen, and taking for granted. Nice one!

Leave a Reply

