Candlemas & Candles & a Mark Strand poem

My friend Becky Gethin has just posted on her blog a reminder about the festival of Candlemas. Have a look.

To join in the celebration, I have also found a poem I like that talks about candles and light. And I plan to accept Becky’s invitation to light a candle tonight –  at suppertime.

The Coming of Light

by Mark Strand

Even this late it happens:
the coming of love, the coming of light. 
You wake and the candles are lit as if by themselves, 
stars gather, dreams pour into your pillows, 
sending up warm bouquets of air.
Even this late the bones of the body shine 
and tomorrow's dust flares into breath.

– See more at: http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/16327#sthash.PYocrJ9V.dpuf

my candles
My candles on 2 Feb 2014 – waiting to be lit at supper time.
2 comments

  1. I like the Mark Strand poem – and I am also a candle lover. Lighting a candle is a lovely way of remembering people. I often do especially in churches and cathedrals anywhere I visit. I hope you enjoyed your candlelit supper – and you have Indian candlesticks – well they look a little like the ones I have from India. Thanks for sharing Candlemas.

  2. It was a delight to see your candlesticks and the table. The poem is breathtaking. You chose a Canadian poet. ( How does he do that? )Thanks so much for following- through. Left my candle to burn out by the rain spattered window!

Leave a Reply

